Managua Department

Managua Department is one of fifteen (15) departments and two (2) autonomous regions in Nicaragua. Managua Department may not be the largest department in physical size, but it is by far the most populated of the Nicaragua Departments. It borders the Pacific Ocean as well as contains well over half of Lake Managua.

Managua Department also contains the Chiltepe Peninsula Natural Reserve, which is a Peninsula jutting out into Lake Managua from the western shore which contains Lake Apoyeque and Lake Xiloa.

The capital of Managua Department is obvioulsy the city of Managua itself, which of course is the capital of the country of Nicaragua as well and is situated along the southern shore of Lake Managua. The city of Managua also contains the largest and only international airport of the Nicaragua Airports, Augusto C. Sandino International Airport. The city of Managua is a bit chaotic in design and shows clear signs of having been through several major earthquakes over the years as well as a revolution in which the city was used as a battleground.

Ruben Dario National Theater

Ruben Dario National Theater The Ruben Dario National Theater is located in the northern end of the city by the shores of Lake Managua. It was contructed in 1969 and has plays, dances, and a variety of other shows throughout the year.