Flag of Nicaragua

Flag of Nicaragua The official flag of Nicaragua has two blue horizontal stripes seperated by one white horizontal stripe with the Nicaragua coat of arms in the middle. The Nicaraguan coat of arms consists of the phrase Republic of Nicaragua in yellow encircled around a triangle with a rainbow, five volcanoes, and a red cap signifying liberty. The five volcanoes represent the five original countries of Central America which were Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua. The current countries of Belize and Panama were originally part of Guatemala and Costa Rica respectively.