Boaco Department

Boaco Department is one of fifteen (15) departments and two (2) autonomous regions in Nicaragua. Boaco Department is located roughly in the center of Nicaragua and doesn't touch either of the coasts. However, it does contain a small portion of Lake Nicaragua.

The capital of Boaco Department is the city of Boaco, which is a small quaint village built into the hillside of the Amerrisque mountains. Other than the nearby Lake Nicaragua, other attractions within Boaco Department are the hot spings in the area and the Cerro Mombachito La Vieja Natural Reserve.